Houston Weapon Charges Lawyer
If you have been charged as a felon in possession of a weapon, you should contact a Houston weapon charges attorney as soon as possible. Leeds Law Firm will be happy to review your felon in possession of a weapon case and defend your rights with our team of experienced Houston criminal defense lawyers.
Why am I being charged with felon in possession of a weapon?
The right to own firearms and other weapons is protected in the Constitution and Texas law. However, convicted felons can legally have that right suspended. Generally, citizens convicted of a felony lose their right to own firearms and other weapons permanently.
What constitutes felon in possession of a weapon?
Most Texans agree that the right to possess firearms is an important right. However, the State of Texas also usually limits the rights of felons to possess weapons after their conviction and/or release from prison.
In Texas, felons are not allowed to possess a weapon for 5 years following either conviction or release from prison, whichever is later. After that 5-year period, it is legal for felons to possess weapons in their own homes, but felons are not allowed to possess weapons anywhere else.
That means that you might be legally allowed to have a self-defense firearm on your property, but you would not be able to take that firearm off your property as a concealed carry, to a gun range, or other public spaces.
Is it possible to get my right to bear arms back?
Unfortunately, the only way to get your right to have weapons back as a convicted felon is to receive a full pardon. Full pardons are rare, so it is uncommon to get the right to have weapons in public back after a felony conviction.
What are the penalties for felon in possession of a weapon in Texas?
Having a weapon as a felon is itself a felony offense. Depending on previous convictions, you may be considered a repeat offender and are more likely to receive stiffer penalties in court. That is why it is so important to contact a qualified criminal defense lawyer in Houston as soon as possible after being charged as a felon in possession of a weapon.
Felon in possession of a weapon is usually a 3rd-degree felony charge. It carries a possible penalty of 2-10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.00. In some cases, depending on what kind of felony conviction you already have on your record, felon in possession of a weapon charges may also be upgraded to a 2nd-degree felony. In these cases, the fine is still up to $10,000, but prison time varies from 2-20 years instead of 2-10 years.
Defend Against Your Charges with our Houston Weapon Charges Lawyer!
If you need an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Houston for a felon in possession of a weapon charge, Leeds Law Firm is here for you. Our team of Houston attorneys is happy to consult on your case and offer the high-quality defense you need and deserve. We will fight for you.